top of page


The Marion Advertising and Promotion Commission was created by Arkansas Code Annotated and Marion Ordinance #225 (view ordinance here) on November 28, 1989.  Each of the Commission's seven (7) members serves four (4)-year terms. The duties of the Commission are to oversee the provisions of the ordinance. Members are nominated by the Mayor and affirmed by the City Council. The membership of the Marion Adverting and Promotion Commission consists of the Mayor or his/her appointee, two (2) members from the Marion City Council and four (4) members who are owners of hotels, motels or restaurants. Current A&P Commission members include: Mayor Fogleman, Councilman Jim Spence, Councilman/Commission Chairman David Bigger, Loretta Tacker,  Hilda Phillips, Mary Singer, and Matt Thompson.

The A&P Commission's objective is to spend the 1% "hospitality tax" collected from Marion businesses in ways that promote Marion to non-local people and attract them to visit. Some of the projects supported by A&P are regional billboards, city gateway signage,  Christmas events, and marketing campaigns to encourage shopping in Marion. A&P also considers funding requests from local organizations for special events and projects.

Requests for A&P funding for special projects should be directed to Tracy Brick with the Marion Chamber of Commerce at 870-739-6041 or

bottom of page